I don’t like horror movies. I don’t like gory scenes, or things jumping out at you from dark corners, or knowing that something really really bad is going to happen just from what music is playing during a particular scene. I’ve seen some horror movies (generally not by choice :S), and forced myself to watch some of the classics just so I would get the pop-culture references. Psycho by Alfred Hitchcock was one. And even though it is in black and white and I knew the basic plot, it was still more than scary enough for me. Generally speaking, I keep my movie watching limited to comedies, dramas, or other movies that I figure won’t cause me to jump and scream or have to hide my face.

Unless of course, it’s a Harry Potter movie.

Then I just squint my eyes and flinch and pray that the scary scene doesn’t last too long. Mostly because I forget to breathe during them… and well I’d hate to pay over $9 for a movie and then pass out for part of it. 😉

So it is rather strange to me that some of my favourite movies feature the horror movie staple, Zombies.

Exhibit A:

Shaun of the Dead. Seriously, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost… they can do no wrong!

And Exhibit B:

Zombieland.

But I’m getting slightly ahead of myself this week. So I’ll let you read about this week’s book, and then I’ll explain why I’ve been rambling about horror movies, and zombies. 🙂

Here you go:

book cover of "Enclave" by Ann Aguirre

Enclave by Ann Aguirre

Summary:

“I was born during the second holocaust. People had told us legends of a time when human beings lived longer. I thought they were just stories. Nobody even lived to see forty in my world.”

Duce lives underground, in a small community of other holocaust survivors. Everyone here has a specific purpose and is expected to do their job to support the community. Well everyone over the age of 15 that is. If you’re under 15, you don’t even rate a name. But that’s because most ‘brats’ don’t live very long in the enclave… so why bother to give them a name?

Duce has finally reached her 15th birthday and along with her name has also been given a job as a hunter. Being a hunter is the dream she has had for as long as she can remember. But she is partnered with the only hunter who has ever survived life outside the enclave, and she doesn’t trust him at all. Something that could be fatal, given how dangerous the Freaks (fleshing-eating monsters that eat anything that moves in the tunnels) make hunting in the tunnels around the enclave. But Duce quickly comes to realize that her new partner may be the only one she can trust with her life, both in and outside their home.

Reivew:

So everyone and their dog seems to be jumping on the dystopian bandwagon. I’ve already reviewed three such titles, as I’m sure you remember. (Find them here, here & here if you need a refresher!) So when I pulled this book off the new book shelf and saw that it was ‘for fans of The Hunger Games’, I may have rolled my eyes. But, I liked the book cover, and decided to give it a try. And you know what, I’m glad I did.

It took me a little while to get fully into the book. I liked Duce, but our relationship started out slowly since we don’t have much in common. I have never lived underground, although I have lived in basement apartments for many years… and that is almost the same thing. 😉 Nor have I ever lived in a postapocalyptic world where one is limited to 3 job descriptions and only lives for a max of 40 years. Clearly my life experience hasn’t been very exciting. 🙂 But, slowly and surely, Duce grew on me.  She’s a fiesty character, and is very interesting to watch as she trys to make sense of the new world rapidly unfolding around her. It wasn’t until things really started falling apart for Duce and her fellow hunter Fade, though, that I really started to sit up and pay attention. Unfortunately, as far as I was concerned, the book ended just as things really started to get good. Thank goodness it’s a series!!

So like I’ve indicated with my tags, this book is pretty action packed. It moves along quite quickly, especially in the latter half of the book, and there isn’t an epic amount of time spent on describing the local flora and fauna (yes J.R.R. Tolkien I’m talking to you!). So if you’re a fan of the action, this is another good pick for you.

And finally… like you didn’t see this coming right???… the Freaks that I mention in the summary? They’re so much like Zombies it’s unreal. Flesh-eating, blood-lusting, ravenous Zombies. (Amazeballs!) I’m sorry, I know this is a bit of a spoiler, but seriously dudes it is such a selling point for the book, I had to mention it! I would not have rolled my eyes if the tag-line on the front of the book had said ‘for fans of The Hunger Games and Zombies’! I would have been all over this book so fast it’s head would have spun. Well had it had one that is. *Ahem* Anyhoo… so if you happen to like Zombies, I suggest that you pick this sucker up. And from how Ms. Aguirre leaves things at the end of this book, I feel confident in saying that you’re going to want to pick up the second book when it comes out in 2012 (beware the spoilers through the link!).

Rating: 4 of 5 star rating

Enclave, you get 4 out of 5, and most of that is because of the Zombies. Not going to lie.

However, had I not already made up my mind to give it this rating, I might have made it 5 out of 5 after watching this rather impressive book trailer. This takes the Gone trailer and just blows it right out of the water! WIN. 🙂

Just FYI, I don’t remember the book being quite so charged with sexual tension… I think they’ve Hollywooded the trailer up a tad. Figures. But still awesomesauce right?? And who else thinks that the dude they have playing Fade looks a wee bit like Heath Ledger???

How to get this book:

  1. book
  2. e-audiobook

Also, if you’re into Zombies and would like to see how they mesh with a work of classic literature, I suggest you pick up Seth Grahame-Smith’s Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Oh book mash-ups, you make me so happy! *tear*

Finally, and this is not my find… all credit must go to my Zombie Apocalypse-Prepared boyfriend, there is this brilliant house. You may want to pick one up for the family … just in case. What a totally brilliant use of form and function. Frank Lloyd Wright would be proud. (Or not. I don’t know. I just know he was an architect. Sue me. :D)

Advertisements