A staple of the teen movie phenomenon has always been the fish out of water. Some girl or boy who doesn’t fit in where they are, whether because of social standing, intelligence or the fact that they’ve just transferred in from some backwoods hole. Don’t believe me? I’ve got proof!

Exhibit A

Exhibit B

Exhibit C

Exhibit D

I could go on. Trust me. But I think I’ve proved my point. Don’t you? ๐Ÿ˜‰

And that is exactly what this week’s book is about. A fish (in this case a girl) way, way, way out of water. So now that you know the basic plot… and have been dazzled by my endless cinematic references ;), let’s get to it shall we? ๐Ÿ™‚

Book cover of Spoiled by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan

Spoiled by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan

Summary:

16 year old Brooke Berlin has everything. Famous parents, an incredible home, designer everything, a first class private school education and popularity out the wazoo. Does she need a heretofore unknown sister showing up from out of nowhere and taking the spotlight off her? Clearly NOT!

Molly Dix, also 16, has just watched her mother die of cancer, and along the way found out that her father was a) not dead and b) not who she thought he was at all. Now she’s headed to LA (from Indiana) to live with movie star Brick Berlin, and she has no idea what is in store for her.

Is it possible for these two girls to get along? For things to go smoothly for either Molly or Brooke? Of course not!! The only question is, how bad will it actually get?

Review:

I was super pumped when I heard about this book. In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a bit of a pop-culture junkie. And the authors of this book feed the fashion portion of my pop-culture needs. ๐Ÿ™‚ Their blog, Go Fug Yourself, satiates the fashion-crazed part of me that was created by watching far too much Fashion Television during the 80’s & 90’s. The fact that it’s filled with epic amounts of snark only tickles my fancy more.

I went into this book thinking that it would be fun, but likely on the brainless end of the Braincandy Scale of Book Evaluation. (This is the scale that I use to make snap judgements about whether or not I want to read something. Let me give you an example. When faced with the following two book covers, I would rate them based solely on appearance.

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย 

The first book I would give a ‘YES, I’M READING THAT SUCKER’. And the second book would get a ‘Next‘.

They are both well written books. In fact, from a literary award standpoint, book two kicks book one’s ass. But the Braincandy Scale of Book Evaluation is about the finding immediately enjoyable, funny/fluffy/cuddly/awesome reads, not literature. Because that’s how I roll folks. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

So here I am thinking this book is going to be fluff, and possibly not even well written fluff. Well boy was I wrong. This sucker lived up to theย aesthetics of it’s fabulously glam cover. Do you think maybe someone’s trying to tell me something? Don’t judge a book by it’s cover, perhaps? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyhoo, down to brass tacks. Firstly, you have to love a good fish out of water story. Especially when the fish, or, in this case, the girl, gets to move into a huge Hollywood mansion with a famous movie star. Who happens to be awesomely clueless. This dude is so into his own hype, that he really has no clue about what his daughters are up to, going through, or even where they might be at any given time on a typical day. But despite all of that, Heather and Jessica (yes, I’m going to call the authors by their first names… no judging) have created a genuinely likeable character in Brick Berlin. Yes, he’s dopey as the day is long, but his heart really seems to be in the right spot. And let’s be honest, if he managed to get Molly’s mom (who by all reports was a pretty awesome lady) to fall in love with him, he can’t be all bad right? At least he tries! And really, isn’t that what every kid wants? A parent who tries? And genuinely cares? I think so.

What else did I like about this book? The bad behaviour. You have to love it when your characters are awful to each other! ๐Ÿ˜‰ The plotting, the scheming, the absolute Dynasty-ness of it all was brilliant. (I suppose I should use tv references from the last ten years eh? Um how about The Hills? There was lots of drama on that show, right?) The best thing, to me anyway, was that both Brooke and Molly acted like mean girls at different times. Neither of them were cast as the total innocent in the situation. And really, isn’t that much more true to life? It’s hard being nice to people sometimes, espeically when you’re in high school and people are mean to you much of the time. It definitely doesn’t make it right… but we all remember that from Kindergarten don’t we? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or was that Mean Girls…

So if you’re looking for a good read that doesn’t hammer home a message, but isn’t completely without morals… and is set in this world, not a post-apocalypse one, you should try Spoiled. And if you’re a pop-culture fan like me? Well this is practically required reading. Grab a latte, put on your Uggs and snuggle up with this book, it’s well worth it I swear! (Just so we’re clear, I neither drink lattes nor wear Uggs. Just want to make that clear. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Rating: 4 out of 5 star rating

While I would say that Beauty Queens is by far the more original of the two, ‘Spoiled’ definitely rates highly on my radar for being a very good read. While I was drawn to both because of splashy packaging, I am definitely getting the message… don’t be so quick to judge a book by its cover! The universe is definitely trying to teach me a lesson. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m sure you’re much smarter than I, and will be quick to snap up Spoiled because it sounds like a good read, not because it’s pretty. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so happy to have such smart and discerning followers for my blog!

How to get this book:

  1. book

And to wrap this post up in a nice, tidy package… here are two clips from the best movie about mean girls ever… ENJOY!

